Faint Memory

by nmnvillamor

After an eventful PolSci 11 class, I decided to reward myself with something refreshing before I end the day and go back to the dorm.

Nearing SC, it suddenly started raining… Hard. And I have to stop short on my trek to happiness because I forgot to bring my umbrella. Again. That’s two days in a row now.

Eventually finding a roof to protect my now drenched clothes from becoming next week’s laundry, I saw someone very familiar rushing to the waiting shed. It was my Math 2 professor! Dressed in khaki shorts and a modest collared shirt, he looked even younger than the last time I saw him… And that was what? A year ago?

I wanted so much to talk to him and know how he’s been. Just for old time’s sake. And you know, thank him for giving me a grade I can still never deem to deserve. But this was a professor, with a college degree and authority and probably a masters in teaching, I couldn’t just go up to him and say hi like we’re close friends or something. So I tried smiling at him just to get a reaction but it proved very futile. The look he gave me was enough for me to assert that he didn’t recognize me. At all.

Even after his jeep arrived, leaving me embarrassed and dazed by myself, I couldn’t get over the fact that sitting on the front row of his class (and I rarely sit on front rows) wasn’t enough for him to remember me.

But then a faint memory from long ago, one that he told us to never forget, and one that I seem to have, suddenly popped up in my mind.

This is very much non-verbatim. Probably even tweaked a little (a lot) for the sake of this post. But the idea remains the same:

(Last meeting for the first semester)

Math 2 Prof: Once you leave this classroom, know that I might never and will never see nor speak to you again… It is not because I am a snob. I am just not good with faces. So don’t expect me to return any kind of greeting from you. I don’t like any form of outburst from someone I don’t know.

That calmed me down a little bit. I am finally not on the receiving end of a bad memory.

Sir, thank you for the grade. I learned so much from you… And your endless love for stocks and insurance.

Have a happy life.

